

At a meeting of the LEICESTER CITY COUNCIL held at the Town Hall at FIVE O'CLOCK in the afternoon on Thursday, 16 MAY 2024 duly convened for the business hereunder mentioned.

BUSINESS

=========

AUDIO STREAM OF MEETING

A live audio stream of the meeting can be heard on the following link: https://www.youtube.com/@leicestercitycouncildemocr5339

- 1. LORD MAYOR'S ANNOUNCEMENTS
- 2. ELECTION OF LORD MAYOR
- 3. ELECTION OF HIGH BAILIFF
- 4. ELECTION OF DEPUTY LORD MAYOR
- 5. APPOINTMENT OF LORD MAYOR'S SPIRITUAL ADVISER
- 6. THANKS TO THE RETIRING LORD MAYOR
- 7. ESTABLISHMENT OF SCRUTINY COMMITTEES AND REGULATORY COMMITTEES
- 8. NOTIFICATION OF EXECUTIVE APPOINTMENTS
- 9. ANNUAL CALENDAR OF MEETINGS
- 10. DATES OF COUNCIL MEETINGS

PRESENT:

SUE BARTON, LORD MAYOR CHAIR

SIR PETER SOULSBY - CITY MAYOR

Abbey Ward North Evington Ward

Nags Agath Dilip Joshi
Charleigh Barnes Ravi Mahesh
Annette Byrne Sanjay Modhwadia

<u>Aylestone Ward</u> <u>Rushey Mead Ward</u>

Scott-Kennedy-Lount Bhupen Dave
Nigel Porter Geeta Karavadra
Devi Singh Patel

Beaumont Leys Ward Saffron Ward

Hazel Orton Ted Cassidy Hemant Rae Bhatia Elly Cutkelvin

Paul Westley

Belgrave Ward Spinney Hills Ward

Shital Adatia Misbah Batool Yogesh Chauhan Mustafa Malik

Jaiantilal Gopal

Braunstone Park and Rowley Fields Ward

Stoneygate Ward

Sue Barton Raffiq Moosa Mohammed

Elaine Halford Manjula Sood Kulwinder Singh Johal Yasmin Surti

Castle Ward Thurncourt Ward

Mick Gregg Teresa Aldred Patrik Kitterick Abdul Osman

Liz Sahu

Evington Ward Troon Ward

Deepak Bajaj Diane Cank

Zuffar Haq Mohinder Singh Sangha

Jenny Joannou

Eyres Monsell Ward Westcotes Ward

Elaine Pantling Adam Clarke Karen Pickering Sarah Russell

Fosse Ward

Susan Waddington Syed Zaman

Humberstone and Hamilton Ward

Stephen Bonham Ashiedu Joel Manjit Kaur Saini

Knighton Ward

Mellissa March Lynn Moore Geoff Whittle

Western Ward

George Cole Vi Dempster Molly O'Neill

Wycliffe Ward

Hanif Aqbany Mohammed Dawood

1. LORD MAYOR'S ANNOUNCEMENTS

The Lord Mayor welcomed all attendees to the meeting.

2. ELECTION OF LORD MAYOR

Moved by the City Mayor and seconded by the Councillor Rae Bhatia, and carried:

That Councillor Bhupen Dave be elected to the Office of the Lord Mayor of the City for the coming year.

Councillor Bhupen Dave, Lord Mayor of Leicester, took the Chair.

3. ELECTION OF HIGH BAILIFF

Moved by the City Mayor and seconded by Councillor Russell and carried:

That Councillor Manjula Sood MBE be elected to the office of High Bailiff for the coming year.

4. ELECTION OF DEPUTY LORD MAYOR

Moved by the City Mayor and seconded by Councillor Russell and carried:

That Councillor Teresa Aldred be appointed Deputy Lord Mayor for the coming year.

5. APPOINTMENT OF LORD MAYOR'S SPIRITUAL ADVISER

The Lord Mayor announced the appointment of Rashmikant Joshi, Hindu Priest as the Lord Mayor's Spiritual Adviser for the year.

6. THANKS TO THE RETIRING LORD MAYOR

Moved by Councillor Singh-Johal, seconded by City Mayor, and carried:

Councillor KSJ expressed appreciation for the outgoing Lord Mayor's extensive engagement and support of local initiatives. The outgoing Lord Mayor, Dr Susan Barton completed two hundred and thirty engagements, including supporting Leicester City's recent championship victory. The contributions of the Lady Mayoress, Consort, and others were acknowledged, emphasizing their role in promoting arts and culture and using the platform for sustainable fashion and other causes.

7. <u>ESTABLISHMENT OF SCRUTINY COMMITTEES AND REGULATORY</u> COMMITTEES

Moved by Councillor Halford, seconded by City Mayor:

The recommended actions and decisions regarding the formation of Scrutiny Committees and Commissions, Regulatory and Council Committees, as printed on the Council Script in italics, be approved:

That the:-

Overview Select Committee

Adult Social Care Scrutiny Commission

Children, Young People and Education Scrutiny Commission

Culture and Neighbourhoods Scrutiny Commission

Economic Development, Transport and Climate Emergency Scrutiny Commission

Housing Scrutiny Commission; and Public Health and Health Integration Scrutiny Commission

all be established in accordance with the Terms of Reference (attached as Appendix B), the size of each being in accordance with the lists detailed in Appendix A, and the Chair and Vice Chair positions being confirmed in accordance with the lists circulated to members separately, it being noted that any remaining places will be filled in accordance with relevant procedures and in consultation with the relevant Groups/Members.

(ii) That the number of parent co-opted places on the Children, Young People and Education Scrutiny Commission be increased from two to three to include one from each of the following three categories of maintained schools: Primary Schools, Secondary Schools, Special Schools.

(iii) That the:- Governance and Audit Committee Health and Wellbeing Board Standards Committee Planning and Development Control Committee Licensing and Public Safety Committee; and Licensing Sub-Committees

all be established in accordance with their existing Terms of Reference, the size of each being in accordance with the listed detailed in Appendix A, and the Chair and Vice Chair positions being confirmed in accordance with the lists circulated to members separately, it being noted that any remaining places will be filled in accordance with relevant procedures and in consultation with the relevant Groups/Members.

AMENDMENT

Moved by Councillor Kitterick, seconded by Councillor Porter:

The number of councillors of the Overview Select Committee is increased, from the current eight to twelve providing for the configuration of seven Labour councillors, three Conservative, one Liberal Democrat and one Green Party.

The Lord Mayor continued with the debate on the motion and invited speakers, before putting the motion to vote.

The Lord Mayor declared that the amendment was not carried.

The original main motion was put to vote.

The Lord Mayor declared the original main motion was carried.

8. NOTIFICATION OF EXECUTIVE APPOINTMENTS

The City Mayor announced that the details of the Executive be updated and published on the Council's website.

9. ANNUAL CALENDAR OF MEETINGS

Councillor Halford moved, seconded by the City Mayor and carried:

That the cycle of meetings of the Scrutiny, Regulatory and Council Committees be confirmed as set out in the schedule of meetings attached as Item 9 with the Agenda.

10. DATES OF COUNCIL MEETINGS

Moved by Councillor Halford, seconded by the City Mayor and carried:

That the Annual Meeting in 2025 be held on 15 May 2025, that Council meet on Wednesday 19 February 2025 to consider the estimates for 2025/26, and that ordinary meetings of Council be held on the dates indicated on the Council Script, ie:

4 July 2024 19 September 2024 21 November 2024 20 March 2025

11. CLOSE OF MEETING

The Lord Mayor declared the meeting closed at 18.26pm